A Goal or an Idol {0.08}


“Like I was saying, that’s our only savings, we don’t really have anything else worth speaking of. I’m not sure what we’re going to do, but we promised her! I wish she didn’t want to become an artist! It’s been so tough to live with her ever since she got it stuck into her head that she wants to go to art school.”

“Oh, I’m sure Alyssa will grow out of the stage. Anyhow, I’ve got a good birthday present for her, maybe it will help take her mind off earning money.”

“I sure hope so! she needs to think about something else for a while!” Alyssa heard her Mom sigh deeply.

She decided to go upstairs, bang her door, and then go back downstairs so it sounded like she just came down.

“Here it is Aunt Z., I had a hard time finding it. Do you like how I shaded it?”

“It looks wonderful Alyssa!” Aunt Zera said, looking at the picture of herself.  “But you didn’t get my hair the right shade of red!” She winked and headed out the door. “I need to go now! I’ll call you sometime so we can figure out our next art class!”

That night Alyssa heard voices late into the night. Her parents were earnestly talking, but she couldn’t hear what they were saying. She tried not to care, and just go to sleep, but she couldn’t help wondering if they were discussing her future.

 

Leave a Reply

