A Goal or an Idol? {0.5}


When Mr. Sunton came home his wife told him about their argument that morning. Alyssa was still in her room with the door locked.

“I really don’t want a dog in my house. I don’t care if it’s a Poodle or a Great Dane!” Mrs. Sunton declared.

“I’ll go talk to her. I doubt she really has called the lady back yet. But I do think it would have been fine to let her watch the dog, as long as she kept it outside, but since she argued with you I’m not going to let her.” He walked up the stairs and knocked on Alyssa’s door.

“Alyssa? It’s Dad, I need to talk to you.”

 

“If it’s about the dog I’m not letting you in.”

 

“It is, and you need to let me in!”

 

After a couple of minutes the door finally opened a crack and Alyssa stuck her head out.

 

“Alyssa” James looked serious. “We need to talk.”

 

“About what?” Alyssa said, a cloud passing over her face. She had been hoping her father would let her watch the dog.

“You were very disrespectful to your Mom. What do you have to say?”

 

“Well, I, um, I mean, I was just, I just told her that….”

 

“Exactly, you told her you were going to disregard her instruction and call the lady back anyway, didn’t you?”

 

“Well, not exactly.”

 

“What did you say?”

 

“Um, that I was going to call her back anyway.”

 

“You need to ask Mom for her forgiveness, and you won’t be able to watch the dog. I think it would have been fine, but since you argued with Mom I’m going to take away that privilege.”

 

“I will,” said Alyssa and started to shut the door.

 

“Right now please, before you call the dog owner back.” James started walking down the stairs.

“All right, I will. By the way, it’s OK if I go to Aunt Z.’s house tomorrow afternoon right?”

 

“I think I already said it was fine, as long as it’s for an art lesson.”

 

“It is. She’s going to pick me up at two. We’re going to learn how to mix paints!” Alyssa ran downstairs, quickly apologized to Mrs. Sunton, and disappeared into her room again.

Mr. Sunton met his wife in the kitchen where she was preparing dinner.

“Sometimes I can’t wait till Alyssa has enough to go to that art school. Then she can forget about earning money.” Susanna told to her husband.

 

“Well, I do think she’s going a bit overboard, but it’s good for her to have a goal!” James replied.

“I know, it’s just, she’s so totally consumed with it!” Mrs. Sunton turned back to the stove and stirred the beans.

 

Leave a Reply

