A Journey Through Proverbs


At different intervals, maybe once a day 🙂  I’m going to post an excerpt from what I’m writing right now, the journey of a fictional girl through Proverbs, in a search for instruction that she can use to help make her a better “Corner Pillar”

May our sons in their youth be like plants full grown, our daughters like corner pillars cut for the structure of a palace; (Psalm 144:12 ESV)

Here’s her first journal entry

A Pillar Fit For a Palace

The Journey of a Young Lady Through Proverbs

May 1

Today I read Psalm 144:12. It says “May our sons in their youth be like plants full grown, our daughters like corner pillars cut for the structure of a palace.” I asked Mom what it meant and she told me that cornerstones (in a different version it says “cornerstones”) are the pieces in a building that make it all work together, they must fit perfectly and if they do they will help build a better building. So, she told me to read through Proverbs this month and write down what I thought of the chapter and list the things that would help me be a better “cornerstone”. Here’s chapter one:

I think, in verses 1-6 Solomon is telling us what Proverbs is meant to do, kind of like a subtitle to the real title “Proverbs”;

To know wisdom and instruction, to receive instruction in wise dealings, to give prudence to the simple, to let the wise hear and increase in learning, and to understand a proverb and a saying. Hmm, pretty cool, so it could look like this:

Proverbs

A series of proverbs and sayings to help you know wisdom and instruction,receive instruction on how to deal wisely, to give prudence to you if you are simple,to help you increase in                                                           learning if you are already wise, and to help you understand riddles, proverbs, sayings, and words of the wise.

I’m running out of space for the first day so here’s the list of things to I need to do or learn because they will help me be a better corner pillar.
❁ Fear the Lord

❁ Listen to my parents instruction

❁ Do not listen to sinners, even if they sound like what they’re doing is OK

❁ Listen to wisdom and I will dwell secure

❁ Do not scoff her (wisdom), love her and seek her.

That’s all for today journal, tomorrow I’ll read Proverbs 2!

Leave a Reply

