The Kite, by John Newton


The Kite

My waking dreams are best concealed,

Much folly, little good, they yield;

But now and then, I gain, when sleeping,

A friendly hint that’s worth the keeping.

Lately I dreamt of one who cried,

“Beware of self, beware of pride;

When you are prone to build a Babel,

Recall to mind this little fable.”

Once on a time a paper kite

Was mounted to a wondrous height,

Where, giddy with its elevation,

It thus expressed self-admiration:

“See how yon crowds of gazing people

Admire my floght above the steeple:

How would they wonder of they  knew

All that a kite like me can do!

“Were I but free, I’d take a flight

And pierce the clouds beyond their sight.

And pierce the clouds beyond their sight.

But ah! Like a poor prisoner bound,

My string confines me near the ground.

I’d brave the eagle’s towering wing

Might I but fly without a string.”

It tugged adn pulled while thus it spoke,

To break the string-at last it broke!

Deprived at once of all its stay,

In vain it tried to soar away;

Unalbe its own weight ot  bear,

It fluttered downward through the air; Unable its own course to guide,

The winds soon plunged it in the tide.

Ah, foolish kite! Thou had’st no wing;

How could’st thou fly without a string?

My heart replied, “O Lord, I see

How much this kite resembles me!

How much this kite resembles me!

Forgetful that by Thee I stand,

Impatient of Thy rling hand,

How oft I’ve wished to break Thy ruling hand,

For something more or something higher!

And, but for grace and love divine,

A fall thus dreadful had been mine.”

Chris typed this for me while I watched Karis… Thanks Chris!

One response to “The Kite, by John Newton

  1. What an inspiring poem! Thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

